Our Story

The birth

The villa was built at the end of the 19th century as a farmhouse commissioned by Fernando Bini.

Hotel Savoia

In 1888 it became a holiday residence for the Campari family. At the beginning of the 20th century it was transformed into Hotel Savoia.

Change of ownership

In 1904 the property passed to Giuseppe Carpena and Eugenio Baldini, son of the famous painter Giuseppe Baldini.

The Chayes Family

In 1906 it became Villa Chayes or Villa Carolina following the purchase of the brothers Guido and Adolfo Chayes, Livorno coral industrialists, who made important changes.

The Restructuring

The Hotel Universal opened for the first time in 1978 following a 6-year renovation that maintained the original atmosphere, enriched with all the comforts of the time.


In 2011 Universal is transformed again with a new 3-year intervention. Today, the hotel welcomes its guests in an environment that combines a refined design with the beauty and elegance of the original Liberty style of the building. Be surprised by the wonderful view of the sea, let yourself be lulled by the undertow and let the experience begin.